Jan 12, 2010

Malaysian Open Women's Tennis 2010: Key players announced!

The Malaysian Tennis Classic 2010, which is part of the Sony Ericsson WTA Mini Asian Tour is now officially known as The Malaysian Open.

Thanks to Joash of Carbon Media Management for sending me the press release of this women's tennis tournament as I couldn't make it to their presser due to work commitment.

The WTA event will take
place at the Bukit Kiara Equestrian and Country Resort from February 22-28, 2010 right after the Chinese New Year.

The players list released by the organiser, Carbon Media Management are
Elena Dementieva, Li Na, Sabine Lisicki, Jie Zheng, Melinda Czink, Magdalena Rybarikova, Jelena Dokic, Sania Mirza, Kimiko Date Krumm, Tamarine Tanasugarn.

Unofficial names
of players who may also be gracing the Malaysian shores are Vania King, Chang Kai-cheng, Lucie Safarova and Sybille Bammer.

The tickets are extremely affordable! Regular season ticket only costs you RM328!

You can get your tickets via TicketPro outlets or via their ticketing hotline +603 7880 7999 or website.

Jan 11, 2010

Weekend winners

Nikolay Davydenko recovered from being bagelled in the first set and then saved two match points in the second set to defeat Rafael Nadal 0-6, 7-6, 6-4 and win the Qatar Open title in Doha.

Wildcard recipient Yanina Wickmayer won the Auckland title, defeating top seed Flavia Pennetta 6-3, 6-2 in the final.

In another women's tennis event Down Under, Kim Clijsters defeated Justine Henin 6-3, 4-6, 7-6 in an all-Belgian final in Brisbane on Saturday.

The doubles final was won by Andrea Hlavackova and Lucie Hradecka who edged Melinda Czink and Arantxa Parra Santonja in a match tie-break victory, 2-6, 7-6, 10-4.

In the men's event, Andy Roddick took the Brisbane title by holding on for a 7-6, 7-6 win over Radek Stepanek.

In the men's doubles final, Marc Gicquel and Jeremy Chardy upset no. 1 seeds Lukas Dlouhy and Leander Paes in the final, 6-3, 7-6(5).

Marin Cilic has defended his Chennai title by defeating Stanislas Wawrinka 7-6(2), 7-6(3) in the final.

Spaniards Marcel Granollers and Santiago Ventura won the doubles title, defeating Janko Tipsarevic and Rendy Lu Yen-hsun 7-5, 6-2 in the doubles final.

(Images via Yahoo! Sports)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...